Meet Lindsey, our Grocery Stocker!

lindsey_d1-300x260What do you do at the Co-op and how long have you been working here?
I am a grocery stocker at the North Store and I have been working here for a little over two years.

What brought you to the Co-op?
The environment and the people. I worked mostly for corporate businesses before this, so I was extremely excited to be employed for a company that really truly cares about their employees, their customers, and the integrity of their business and practices.

What do you like best about your job?
It’s difficult to pinpoint one thing, but I think the people have to be my favorite part of the job. Both my co-workers and the customers are fantastic, genuine, friendly people and they make coming to work easy. In turn, having these shared goals and mentalities, regarding food and sustainability, create a thoughtful, open work environment, which is another huge benefit of the job.

How has working at the Co-op affected your life?
Most certainly! As I mentioned before, the people have become a huge part of why I love it here. With all the diversity amongst us, I have had a chance to glimpse into the ways and workings of lifestyles I was always curious about. With so many personal experiences to share, I have found new hobbies and interests I might not have known about before. Also, while I have always been a more health and environmentally conscious person, working here has expanded my knowledge in a multitude of ways. I know more about GMOs, organic food, and grass-fed/free range meat, as well as having access to all the best products. In addition to food ingredients, I’ve had an opportunity to learn about different food restrictions and lifestyle choices, which was immensely helpful when I found myself with a gluten-free significant other.

What are some of your favorite products at the Co-op?
Northwest Natural Beef Strips, Guayaki Revel Berry drink, Alden’s Blackberry ice cream, Nuts Around the World Cocoa Mocha, honey goat cheese (any kind), Lonely Lane beef, bulk organic dried pineapple and mango. I could go on and on and on.

What do you like to do outside of work?
Spend as much time with my long-distance S.O. as possible. We watch a lot of movies, cook together, spend time with friends. Alone, I do lots of craft artwork type activities; Pintrest has made a DIY’er out of me. When it’s sunny, I love spending time in the water. When I can get some extended time off, I like to travel and camp. This last year, I spent some time at Camp Dakota, here in Oregon, and had a blast. Can’t wait to do more of that, or maybe some road trips, amusement parks, and such.

Where did you grow up/where have you lived in your life?
I was born in Klamath Falls, OR, but grew up here in Corvallis (I’ve been here since I was 4). In fact, only one of my alma maters is still standing in its original form.
RIP old CHS and Western View.

Tell us something about yourself others might not know
Even though I have a pretty lofty degree already (Bachelor’s in Apparel Design), I really wish I had been a dancer. I took classes when I was really young, but didn’t have the discipline. By the time I was a teenager, I thought it was too late to start classes. I still dance around on my own, but I wish I had actual training.

If you had three wishes….
20 more wishes. (I’m not greedy, but do want more. Enough for a lifetime.)
For everyone I care about (and their families) to be healthy, happy, and financially stable for the rest of their natural lives.
Fully loaded house, including dream master bath, high-tech kitchen, & outdoor pool.
Obviously, I would get additional wishes, considering my first wish, but this gives you an idea.

Where are some of your favorite travel destinations?
England was AMAZING, so I’d love to see more of Europe. Right now, my more local travel destinations include gorgeous natural spots across Oregon. I really want to stay at the Treehouse Resort in Southern Oregon, as well as make it to California for some rollercoasters and to Arizona to see family and friends.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
I can barely plan a year from now, let alone ten, but basically, married, family, kids, life. Would love to add in a career/side job in apparel, if possible.

What music is playing in your car, home, or head?
Old stuff. I don’t have a car, so I don’t listen to the radio or hear too many new songs. Right now, my music ranges from Dean Martin to Kansas to Lady Gaga to everything 90’s. My playlists are mostly made for my moods (like sleep, fun, study), not divided by music genres.

What are your top 5 favorite things about Corvallis?
The people who live here, the environment we have created as a community, the beauty of our surroundings (both natural and man made), the activities you can find available within or nearby, and, of course, Oregon State Beavers!!

What is one thing you would change at the Co-op?
I would add more locations, as well as sprucing up our current ones. Though the South Store received a lovely overall face lift this last year, it would be nice to see the facility updated to match the North Store more, aesthetically speaking. Also, it would be nice to provide more locations through out the Valley, to better serve our customers outside of the Corvallis area.

By |2016-09-09T10:15:48+00:00December 4th, 2014|Co-op Staff|0 Comments